### National Awards and Scholarships Given at 101st Convention

As Crows flocked to Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, this past summer for the National Convention the Fraternity and Foundation were busy recognizing Brothers for their scholarship efforts and excellence. On Tuesday, July 26, 2011, The Educational Foundation awarded over \$20,000 in scholarships to deserving Brothers to continue their pursuit of a college or graduate degree.

#### Award winners included:

Nicholas Simmons (Drexel University) who is pursuing his graduate degree in engineering at Penn State University. Nick received the Donald F. Jones Graduate Scholarship in the amount of \$1,000.

James Fischer (LaSalle University) who received the Wilbur M. "Curly" Walden Scholarship totaling \$3,000. He will be returning to LaSalle to complete graduate work in business and professional communications.

Brian Yates (Rowan University) who is competing his graduate degree at West Texas A&M. Brian received the Stanley G. Bedford Scholarship in the amount of \$3,000.

Joseph DiGregorio (SUNY Binghamton) who will be returning to Binghamton to complete graduate work in computer engineering. Joe received the F. Prescott Hammond Scholarship totaling \$3,000.

Joshua Kramer (Temple University) who is completing his undergraduate coursework in Accounting. Josh received the Donald F. Jones Scholarship in the amount of \$2,000.

Brent Sanderson (SUNY Geneseo) who received the Paul K. Addams Scholarship totaling \$4,000. Brent is pursuing his undergraduate degree in biology/pre-med.

Robert Allen (WPI) who is pursuing an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering. Rob received the Richard V. Olson Scholarship in the amount of \$3,000.

Jeffrey Crooks (Robert Morris University) who is completing is undergraduate degree in communications with an emphasis in journalism and political science. Jeff received the John C. Enk Scholarship of \$2,000.

Michael Ludwig (Robert Morris University) was awarded the Charles W. Coughlan Scholarship in the amount of \$500. Michael is majoring in secondary education.

Ian Boyd (Elon University) is completing his undergraduate coursework in media arts and entertainment/cinema. Ian received the James McFadden Scholarship totaling \$2,000.

Other awards that were awarded during Convention included:
--

#### Robert B. Stewart Undergraduate Man of the Year

Alan Buehler from Robert Morris University (\$1500 cash award)

#### Stanley G. Bedford Award for Effective Executive Leadership

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)

#### Weston L. Dangler Award for Most Cooperative Chapter with the National Office Robert Morris University

Thomas F. Flanagan Award for Demonstrating the True Image of the Fraternity
The Pennsylvania State University

### **Dennis Grim Award for Excellence in Performance of the Ritual**Drexel University

James J. "Spence" Spencer Award for Most Improved Colony University of Cincinnati

## **Robert B. Stewart Award for Most Improved Chapter without a House**Trinity College

Curly Walden Award for the Best All-Around Chapter in Alpha Chi Rho Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI)

### W. Henson Watchorn Award for Most Improved Chapter with a House The University of Illinois

# **Community Service Award for Outstanding Community Service** SUNY Plattsburgh

Congratulations to all scholarship and award recipients and best wishes for the new academic year!